Jen Dusold Brown is a birth and postpartum doula serving Greater Cincinnati. We’re so excited to have her on our team. Let’s get to know her a little better.

How long have you lived in the Cincinnati area?

I’ve lived in Cincinnati my whole life essentially, minus about five years where I lived and worked in Manhattan and Brooklyn as a fashion designer for companies such as Donna Karan, The Gap, and Macy’s.

What do you love about living in Cincinnati?

My favorite thing about living in Cincinnati is the emphasis on family! There is an inherent value of the family unit that exists in this city that is sometimes hard to find in bigger cities. I also love that there are so many diverse kinds of family-friendly activities to do here, from amusement parks and museums to hiking and physical play spots. Another thing I appreciate about our city is the start-up culture. It gives our city a vibrant energy and growth.

What's your favorite place to eat in Cincinnati?

Basically, anywhere that has great smoked meat and mac & cheese. Pontiac, Just Q’in, Eli’s, and Lucius Q all check the box on that one. I also hear Jeff Ruby’s has the best mac & cheese, so I’m currently saving up money to try that out. And I’d be remiss not to give a shout out to my favorite dessert in the city: the meringues with Devonshire cream from Macaron Bar are AMAZING!

Goldstar or Skyline?

I can barely dignify this question with an answer… but I will: Skyline. Hands down.

UC or XU?

Almost all of my family are UC grads… until one of my sister-in-laws joined the equation. She’s Xavier all the way so we’re now a house divided ;)

What does your ideal Saturday look like?

Early morning walk with husband and/or my kids. Personal time at Collective Espresso for some reading, prayer, and journaling. Mountain biking with my husband in the afternoon. And end the evening with our usual Family Night, where we go out to dinner and may do some sort of new activity or hang out with extended family. An ideal Saturday would include lots of peace, play, and laughter.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I hope to take my 11-year-old daughter to Japan next Spring. She’s super into kawaii culture and I want to take her there for a visit at this perfect age. Also, my husband is from Jamaica and I’m still due for an extended visit there!

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Originally, a UPS truck loader, so I could get a workout while getting paid. Then, once I learned biology in high school, I wanted to be an orthopedic surgeon. That changed two years into college once I learned I’m not a fan of lab reports and would rather be sculpting, drawing and creating. So I changed course and instead earned my degree in Fashion Design.

Why did you become a doula?

I believe intentional, peace-filled, empowered births and family beginnings are possible. I became a doula to support this mission for families of all kinds who desire these things for themselves.

Additionally, my duty to provide love and unbiased support for another human isn’t conditional, nor is it only flexed as part of the doula job description. Showing up for another person with love to give – by definition - doesn’t have to do with any of their own particular circumstances or choices.


Ten Interesting Facts About Jen

  1. My other career is serving as a brand and innovation consultant for all kinds of clients, from start-ups to Fortune 50 companies.

  2. As part of my other job, I’ve had the privilege to travel the world, talking with women about their experience as a new mom and how they care for their new babies.

  3. I love adventure and any sort of physical challenges. I’m not (too) afraid of falling or getting hurt.

  4. I was a single mom from 2001 – 2019. During that time I had three children. It was chaotic, hard, and wonderful.

  5. I just got married in May 2019! Very excited for this new chapter amazing husband.

  6. I’m a horse mom. My 17-year-old daughter has a gift for training, riding, and caring for training horses. So, I’ve learned all sorts of things over the last 10 years about horses and horse culture.

  7. I’m an Enneagram Social 7 -The Enthusiastic Visionary.

  8. I can do a back handspring.

  9. I’m very close with my family, which consists of my parents, three brothers, and their wives and kids. We all live within 10 miles of each other.

  10. The focus of my entire life is living in a way that God calls me to … a.k.a. LOVING him and LOVING others!


Contact us today to learn more about how Jen can support you.

Comment